2011-12 Immunizations reqs 1
|Previous||1 of 1||Next|
small (250x250 max)
medium (500x500 max)
large ( > 500x500)
12/8/2010 Guide to Immunization Requirements in Oklahoma - 2011-2012 School Year CHILDCARE PRE-SCHOOL/PRE-KG KG-6th 7th 8-12th PLEASE READ THE BULLETS BELOW FOR ESSENTIAL INFORMATION 4 DTaP 4 DTaP 5 DTP/DTaP *** 5 DTP/DTaP*** & 1 Tdap booster 5 DTP/DTaP 1-4 PCV* Not required for school 3 Polio 3 Polio 4 Polio**** 4 Polio**** 4 Polio**** 1 MMR 1 MMR 2 MMR 2 MMR 2 MMR 1-4 Hib* & ** Not required for school 3 Hep B 3 Hep B 3 Hep B 3 Hep B***** 3 Hep B***** 2 Hep A 2 Hep A 2 Hep A 2 Hep A 2 Hep A 1 Varicella 1 Varicella 1 Varicella 1 Varicella 1 Varicella * The number of doses of PCV and/or Hib may range from 1 to 4 depending on the age of the child when the first dose is received. ** Children may be complete with 3 or 4 doses of Hib depending on the brand of vaccine used. *** If the 4th dose of DTP/DTaP is administered on or after the child’s 4th birthday, then the 5th dose of DTP/DTaP is not required. **** If the 3rd dose of Polio is administered on or after the child's 4th birthday, then the 4th dose of Polio is not required. ***** Previously unimmunized students 11 through 15 years of age may receive a 2 dose series of Merck® Adult Hepatitis B vaccine to comply with this requirement. All other children (younger or older) must receive 3 doses of Hepatitis B vaccine. · The table above lists the vaccines that are required for children to attend childcare, preschool, and kindergarten through twelfth grade in Oklahoma. Additional vaccines may be recommended, but are not required. For example, a 2nd dose of varicella vaccine is recommended before entering kindergarten, but not required by Oklahoma law. · Children attending licensed childcare facilities must be up-to-date for their age for the vaccines listed. · Hib and PCV vaccines are not required for students in pre-school, pre-kindergarten, or kindergarten programs operated by schools. · Doses administered 4 days or less, before the minimum intervals or ages, are counted as valid doses. · All measles, mumps and rubella (MMR), varicella, and hepatitis A vaccine doses must be administered on or after the child's first birthday (or within 4 days before the birthday). · For doses given on or after Jan. 1, 2003, the 5th dose of DTaP must be given on or after the 4th birthday (or within 4 days before the 4th birthday). This rule does not apply to doses given before 2003. · If a parent reports that their child had chickenpox disease, the child is not required to receive varicella vaccine. · It is not necessary to restart the series of any vaccine if the next dose due in the series has not been given on schedule; longer than recommended intervals between doses do not affect final immunity. · Children may be allowed to attend school and childcare if they have received at least one dose of all the required vaccines, but they must complete multi-dose series of vaccines on schedule. These children are “in the process” of receiving immunizations. If you have any questions call the Immunization Service at 405-271-4073 or 800-234-6196 or visit our website at http://imm.health.ok.gov.
|Okla State Agency||
Health, Oklahoma State Department of
|Title||Guide to immunization requirements in Oklahoma, 2011-2012 school year|
Oklahoma. Immunization Service.
|Publisher||Oklahoma State Department of Health|
Immunization of children--Oklahoma--Periodicals.
|Purpose||The table above lists the vaccines that are required for children to attend childcare, preschool, and kindergarten through twelfth grade in Oklahoma. Additional vaccines may be recommended but are not required.|
|Notes||formerly E1800.1 I33g|
|OkDocs Class#||H845.1 I33g 2011/12|
|For all issues click||H845.1 I33g|
|Digital Format||PDF, Adobe Reader required|
|ODL electronic copy||Downloaded from agency website: www.ok.gov/.../ IMM%20Guide%20to%20Imm%20Reqs%20in%20OK%202011-12.pdf|
|Rights and Permissions||This Oklahoma government publication is provided for educational purposes under U.S. copyright law. Other usage requires permission of copyright holders.|