The statute does not provide for an agency to
assess punitive damages as part of an adminis-
trative order. We find NVI’s interpretation
without merit, and find that the ODEQ is
authorized by statute and regulation to assess
penalties against NVI in this matter without a
showing of reckless disregard.

II. THE CALCULATION OF THE PENALTY

922 NVI's next arguments revolve around
the provisions of 27A O.5.2011 §§ 2-3-504 and
2-3-502.

923 Section 2-3-504 (emphasis added) pro-
vides that:

a. Except as otherwise specifically pro-
vided by law, any person who violates any
of the provisions of, or who fails to perform
any duty imposed by, the Oklahoma Envi-
ronmental Quality Code or who violates
any order, permit or license issued by the
Department of Environmental Quality or
rule promulgated by the Environmental
Quality Board pursuant to this Code:

3. May be assessed an administrative pen-
alty pursuant to Section 2-3-502 of this title
not to exceed Ten Thousand Dollars
($10,000.00) per day of noncompliance; or
[may be subject to injunctive relief].

924 Section 2-3-502(K)(1) (emphasis added)
provides that:

Unless specified otherwise in this Code, any
penalty assessed or proposed in an order shall
not exceed Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00)
per day of noncompliance.

925 NVI argues that a licensee may not be
assessed a penalty of over $10,000 per day of
noncompliance. ODEQ argues that we should
interpret § 2-3-504 and 2-3-502, as providing
for a penalty of “$10,000 per violation per day.”
We find no case law addressing this question.
However, in circumstances where the Legisla-
ture wishes penalties to be accrued on a “per
violation per day” basis, it specifically states
so. See e.g., 21 O.5.2011 § 842.3(F) (administra-
tive fine not to exceed $5,000 per violation per
day for breach of tattooing regulations); 52
0.5.2011 § 318.22 (seismic exploration without
permit subject to $1,000 penalty per violation per
day); O.A.C. 165:30-3-104 ($500 penalty for
breach of motor vehicle regulations per viola-
tion per day). To interpret the phrase “per day”

1072 The Oklahoma Bar Journal

as also meaning “per violation, per day” ren-
ders part of the language of these statues
superfluous, and undoes the legislatively cre-
ated distinction.

926 Therefore, we find that § 2-3-504 caps
total daily penalties at $10,000, and NVI may
be assessed a maximum penalty of $10,000 per
day of noncompliance. The only violation that
may have occurred or continued after Septem-
ber 2, 2008, is the failure to notify the ODEQ
within 24 hours of Roberts” suspected expo-
sure, pursuant to O.A.C. 252:410-20-1(c)(13)(B),
which was partially mitigated by the weather
Act of God.

A. Was There a Violation of the Reporting
Requirement?

1. Loss of control

927 NVI initially argues that there was no
violation of O.A.C. 252:410-20-1(c)(13)(B). Sub-
section (c)(13)(B) references 10 C.ER. § 20.2202,
which, in turn delineates two different report-
ing standards, dependent upon the suspected
exposure. The applicable standard states:

(b) Twenty-four hour notification. Each
licensee shall, within 24 hours of discovery
of the event, report any event involving
loss of control of licensed material pos-
sessed by the licensee that may have caused,
or threatens to cause, any of the following
conditions:

(1) An individual to receive, in a period of
24 hours —

(i) A total effective dose equivalent exceed-
ing5rems. ..

928 NVI argues that, because the nuclear pel-
let in question was not “lost,” i.e., not out of the
possession of its employees, there was no “loss
of control,” and § 20.2202(b) does not apply.’
However it does not disagree that for a period
of time the operator did not know the true
location of the pellet. Neither party cites, nor
do we find, case law from state or federal
courts interpreting the phrase “loss of control
of licensed material” as used in § 20.2202(b).
However, O.A.C. 252:410-1-4 separately regu-
lates “lost or stolen” sources of radiation (cit-
ing 10 C.ER. § 20.2201) and exposure that
results from a loss of control (citing 10 C.ER. §
20.2202), indicating that a “loss of control” of
material differs from material being “lost . . . or
stolen.”
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